Finding Joy in the Most Unexpected of Places

The highlight of my week has been watching my little man finding immense joy in the smallest and most random of things. I can’t describe how deeply satisfying it was to watch him laugh with hysterics (complete with squeals of delight) at the sound of his Dad reading words from the ever-exciting ‘My Big Farm Book’. It was one of those moments that you couldn’t create even if you tried. There was just the right combination of intonation, colourful pictures and mood which made words like ‘combine harvester’, ‘horse’ and ‘pumpkin’ (to name a few) absolutely hysterical! And the sound, there’s no other word but heavenly (not that I’m biased or anything).  I’ve always been one to enjoy the odd giggle or two (or ten) and admittedly I too often find humour where others perhaps do not. So it’s at times like this that there is no denying that this is my son, not that there was really any doubt.

I was so excited when we hit the 5-6 week mark and all the books informed me that the first smiles were on their way.  I wholeheartedly threw myself into doing my best Bert and Ernie giggle after, well, pretty much everything from ‘This Little Piggie’ to ‘Round and Round the Garden’.  It was while giggling after one such episode that it dawned on me that I was in fact teaching my son to smile and to laugh. It was the first time I had actually felt that I was deliberately imparting something onto my child. Hopefully it wasn’t the last!

Children learn to smile from their parents ~ Shinichi Suzuki

Now, thanks to my son, we’re discovering all the hidden nooks and crannies where there are giggles to be had. From watching ‘Mummy wobbling her head around like a dashboard ornament’ (as my husband so aptly described it) to the ever-amusing game of ‘A-Tissue’ (with real or fake sneezes). It’s been absolutely delightful to see the wonders of the world through my sons eyes and so much fun helping him find joy in the most unexpected of places.

Images from Microsoft Office Images

Leave a Reply

